A Bit About Dragons

 

For Writers Island prompt #23  soar
http://writersisland.wordpress.com/

This was originally written a while ago, but I’m posting it for the prompt today because dragons not only soar, they can help us soar up and over some of our most persistant stumbling blocks. Although many view dragons as monsters come to destroy, or immovable objects, I see them differently. They can be friends and help us to learn, and unlearn, both new and old habits. Hope you enjoy.

I have already written about my Personal Mythology. In that Mythology there are dragons. This is my personal definition of them and how I see them in connection with ones own person and life. It is a mixture of things I have read, some theories about how we humans actually operate, and my own personal tastes.

Dragons are a more highly evolved species. They come into our lives to protect, to guide and to teach us, and remain as long as we need them to do so. They often come when we are children learning to creatively cope with daily existence.

Because of ongoing development, children don’t always get the “whole” picture. They get pieces and parts, and assume that what they are seeing is all there is to know. And they are often confronted, because of that only partial knowledge, with things that threaten them and their continued existence. Whether those things are imaginary, real, or simply a misconception, children are always about the business of creating and learning coping skills that will allow them to proceed with their individual journey through life, as they know it.

Research says that we pretty much have put together a ‘world view’ by the time we are five years old. A world view is our take on how the world operates and our own particular place and function in that world. And a by-product of that world view is the creation of coping mechanisms and skills that will allow us to move through our lives somewhat unimpeded by things and other peoples’ reactions and actions.

Think about that for a moment. When I was five, I was recovering from a car accident which landed me in the hospital for surgery, and the placement of a steel pin in my skull where some of the bone had been smashed. Talk about a need to develop coping skills aimed at keeping me safe. Lots of them.

But, now I am grown, have a much fuller concept of how life works, and am fully aware that some of those coping skills I put into place, way back when, get in the way of how I really want to live my life in the present moment. Reality is, because they were created so long ago, and have become, to a great extent, much more habit than thought process, I can be and often am, unaware of how or why, or even when I am engaging in those particular coping mechanisms. Which only means, I am sometimes baffled by the things I do and say and, often question my own sanity or grasp on reality.

And that is when the dragons come into play. They may be a more highly developed species which happen to live forever, but that doesn’t mean they can’t, or don’t need to learn a few things as well. They essentially are a symbol for those coping mechanisms we no longer need and, most likely, need to change.

As I said earlier, they come to protect, especially children. Because they can shape shift, changing size from hugo to minute, they can wrap themselves around the individual giving a feeling of being behind a rather sturdy wall that also happens to be a fire-breathing weapon. Not bad, hunh? In that process they also teach the child behaviors that will allow him/her to go on feeling safe behind that wall. Hey, if it works you use it over and over again until it becomes habit.

Example: Back when I was five, every physical movement I engaged in was scrutinized and limited because I had survived and sustained a serious head injury. No one knew what might, or might not happen, and my parents had been warned that the surgery might result in symptoms akin to Cerebral Palsy.

Although my family wanted me to learn how to be careful, what I really came to know was a lot of what is labeled as “learned helplessness.” That translates to the very real fact that when simple action is called for, I sometimes have a tendency to just stay seated and ask someone else to do whatever action might be called for. That can be majorly exasperating to all parties concerned.

It became a really big issue after I had children and continually asked them to go get me a glass of soda, or a book that was on the shelf just across the room from where I was sitting. I heard their complaints and sighs of exasperation, but didn’t connect it all together until I finally heard the phrase, “learned helplessness.” That’s when I met my first dragon.

He was blue and green, and his name was Peter. Blue is the color of knowledge and wisdom, green symbolizes growth. The name Peter means “rock.” Lots of clues there. But, what else I learned is that dragons are as much creatures of habit as we human beings. He didn’t really want to change and liked his role and his life as a rock. Movement was work, energy, action.

We talked. I was able to show him that by remaining a rock, he would never fulfill his other and far deeper purpose (Dragons seem to begin a slow process of forgetting when they enter the earth’s atmosphere). That was to return to his own home environment, after releasing me from the habits of years of existence. From there, when he would appear, I knew I had to get up and move and not ask others to do things I was fully capable of doing myself.

Eventually, we both got comfortable in our new roles, and he began to fade, and finally left because his real work had been completed. It was difficult and emotionally hard to release him from what he saw as his commitment and obligation to my person. But we did do it. And we both grew in the process and gained some very needed knowledge.

Several more have appeared since he first came. I always asked for a name and made sure I knew what the color meant specifically. Haven’t had one appear in years. So was surprised last week when I caught sight of a purple dragon flying in my direction. His name is Neosafalus. We still have a lot of talking to do.

About 1sojournal

Loves words and language. Dances on paper to her own inner music. Loves to share and keeps several blogs to facilitate that. They can be found here: http://1sojournal.wordpress.com/ http://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/ http://claudetteellinger.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in A Bit About Dragons, Personal Mythology and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to A Bit About Dragons

  1. Diane Truswell says:

    I enjoyed reading your words about dragons. They are immensely popular in Asia… even dragon fruit, LOL.

    • 1sojournal says:

      Diane, my dragons bear the fruit of knowledge and wisdom and bring it in a manner that is both helpful and many times fun. There is often a lot of laughter involved and that’s far better than awkward embarrassment, or worse, shame. And Oriental dragons seem to be far more carefree and happy than our Western version of the same.

      Thanks for reading and commenting,

      Elizabeth

  2. Mary says:

    I did enjoy reading about your meaningful interactions with dragons. I cannot say I have ever met one. Wouldn’t mind though!

    • 1sojournal says:

      Lol, Mary. Hope you realize that now that you have put that thought out there, you are far more apt to meet one. It isn’t difficult. Just close your eyes and think, “Dragon.” And please, let me know if you do have such an encounter. I’d be just as interested to hear about it.

      Thanks for stopping in,

      Elizabeth

  3. pamela says:

    Elizabeth a fantastic read. I was totally entralled with this.
    Pamela

    • 1sojournal says:

      Pamela, dragons are quite intriguing creatures. Have you ever seen the old movie, Dragon Heart?. I used it in some classes to let people know of another side to the dragons, other than the one most prevelant in Western thought, that of the destroyer. I cry when I watch it, but that might be because I have a thing for Shawn Connery, lol. I’m glad you enjoyed the essay and thanks for commenting,

      Elizabeth

  4. Deborah says:

    Wonderful, everybody needs a dragon at some point in their life, I absolutely loved readin this!

    • 1sojournal says:

      Thanks Deborah, I’m glad that you did. My Personal Mythology is rich with life and living. When the dragons began to appear, I knew I was not a dragon slayer, knew they had a purpose and reason for being there. It took a bit of time to figure it all out, but eventually I did. A few months ago, I watched the movie, “How To Train Your Dragon.” It was a wonderful flick and I enjoyed it immensely and the lessons within it were incredibly real to me. I am beginning to really enjoy those animated movies, they are a great deal like my own imagination, lol.

      Elizabeth

  5. anthonynorth says:

    That was excellent. Your worldview is great.

    • 1sojournal says:

      Hi Anthony, glad you liked it. I don’t know about great. My worldview is always a work in progress. It is my hope that I will continue to grow and learn til the day I die. Thanks for taking the time to read and comment,

      Elizabeth

  6. Sally Hutt says:

    ViV, on Sally’s computer, says:

    This was a fascinating read. You’ve clarified a lot of things in my mind that have always puzzled me. I particularly liked what you had to say about the response of small children. I admire your philosophy and willingness to learn and change.

    • 1sojournal says:

      Oh Viv, even we old birds have a few things we still need to know, especially about those quirks in our own behavior that we have never understood. Although the dragons are there to originally help us, they can and do become a hindrance at times, to fuller growth. Glad you got something out of this, I have certainly done that, lol. And thanks for taking the time to read and comment. Hope your trip is proving to be both pleasurable and fruitful.

      Elizabeth

  7. What a memorable post. I have always liked Dragons. In my mind they are very real. And your words make it more so!

    is it love poetry or missing muse or nothing?

    • 1sojournal says:

      Thanks Gautami, I think of them as very real as well, even though they only live in my imagination, they are full of wise words and often laughter. I have even ridden dragon back, whew! In my imagination I am never afraid of hieghts, lol.

      Elizabeth

  8. systematicweasel says:

    It’s always nice to read about the dragons. Awesome post! =)

    -Weasel

  9. pieceofpie says:

    yes encounters, absolutely… sitting in a coffee shop my small son had nothing to do… showed him a picture of a eastern dragon… turned the placement over for half an hour he drew that dragon i still have it to this day… it is somehow entwined with what went on that day… a definite presence… one can soar anywhere…. thank you i really appreciated your post and thoughts on dragons… wish

  10. 1sojournal says:

    Dragons are the very essence of magic and adventure, for both young and old. I’m glad this made you think of that experience with your son and even happier to hear that you kept the image. My teen-aged son once asked me if he could paint something on his bedroom wall. I later walked in to find a full sized mountain lion leaping from the wall and ceiling onto his bed. I had no idea and we both cried when we moved and had to leave it behind. However, I do have the sketches of it, so I understand your experience. Thanks for reading and for commenting,

    Elizabeth

  11. As always I like to read the comments and your response, but I like to make my comment first. Thanks for directing me to this piece about dragons. Right now I am thinking you are a bit like Frido Kalo. An injury when you were young, and some ways you learned to deal with it. I love to read what you write, and with time, I hope to read everything you have posted. You are your own book, the story of your life.

    Annell, we are all our own book, our own story. Some will be written, others sculpted or painted, or perhaps turned into music played on a stereo. There are so many ways to express those stories. I’ve been very slowly reading through a journal my Mother left behind. A piece of her story and it tells me much I already knew, but holds a few surprsies as well.

    As far as the injury when I was young, I believe it shaped me in more ways than the growth process I went through. I recently told someone that I believe that when one goes through trauma, is pushed to the very limits of their ability to cope, the only response is to reach past those known abilities, and bring back other things that might be called gifts. My listener agreed with me and he is a psychologist with special trainging in trauma. Whew! What a relief that nod and agreement created, lol.

    I have read some about Frido Kalo, her work fascinates me and I find her repetitive use of her own image, a very real statement about her own story, her own book of awareness. Thanks for reading and for all of your words,

    Elizabeth

Comments are closed.