Refocusing On Creativity

 

Someone recently asked me, in an email, what I do about feeling creatively blocked. At first, I just laughed out loud, then thought that any response could easily become an entire book. Mainly because I have been pursuing an answer to that question most of my life. That in turn means I seldom, if ever, feel blocked creatively. That isn’t a boast. I was a bit stunned when I realized what my answer actually was. That sounded so sort of arrogant, but it is true. So, to stall for some time and space before writing any kind of response, I went to the dictionary and looked up the word Creativity.

This is what I found:

1. the state or quality of being creative.
2. the ability to transcend traditional ideas, rules, patterns, relationships, or the like, and to create meaningful new ideas, forms, methods, interpretations, etc.; originality, progressiveness, or imagination…
3. the process by which one utilizes creative ability…

That in turn, brought me back to thoughts about this blog, which seemed to be going nowhere fast, or in any particular direction. As a matter of fact, I had been considering simply closing it down and blaming all sorts of circumstances and issues, rather than facing off with the fact that I was blocked (yes, that’s exactly what I mean).

You might ask why that diversionary trip to the Dictionary brought me right back here. Read those three parts of the definition again. Creativity is Intuition at work, doing its thing, making connections that result in new ways of thinking, seeing, and feeling. Bringing new actions into play and thus, changing the playing field.

When I first started this blog, I wanted to write about ways to enhance the intuitive faculties we are all born with. And, to some extent, I was doing that. But (big but), I wasn’t completely focused and the whole thing became a problem. Too many diverse ideas, tangents, and I was losing any coherency I may have had at the beginning. I would come here and immediately start feeling blah. Fogged in, less than enthused, and even tired. After months of just lip service to the whole idea, I was ready to scrap it and put my energy elsewhere. But, then came that question and that definition. And suddenly the whole thing began to fall into place.

You may have noticed that the site itself has been given a bit of a face lift. And it has been refocused by that very simple (never easy) question. As I thought about the incredible numbers of ways I could respond to the question, I could feel my spirits lifting and a hum of energy throughout my system. Creativity is Intuition, and Intuition is Creativity. And I have been engaged in pursuing both for most of my existence. Actually, wrote out my response by outlining many of the ways in which I have done just that.  

Here are some of the thoughts I had while writing out that response:

Creativity is:

1. an energy flow
2. built into the system
3. healing source
4. all the stages of The Hero’s Journey
5. a threshold
6. a means of getting outside of ones Comfort Zone
7. an outlet for pent up energy
8. intuitive connections
9. synchronistic in nature
10. a symbolic, and concrete means of self-expression
11. stopped by fear
12. always there, always waiting
13. meant to be used to bring about change

And on and on it went. If one takes the time to go back and read some of the archives on this blog, one can see that I have been hinting at and writing about most of those things all along (I know because I actually did that). Then I thought about changing the title of the blog to Creative Paths, but decided not to do that and went with the idea of refocusing instead. To refocus is to change ones perspective. Take a new look at something that is familiar already, or hone in on some particular detail that sort of got lost in the quick overview. Which is exactly what I had done.

We are still on the same page. Still dealing with intuitive paths and enhancing that particular faculty. And because Creativity is Intuition at work, exploring ones creativity simply invites the Intuitive faculties to the same table.

I have written about Gavin De Becker’s book, The Gift of Fear. How he explains that fear is the impetus to intuitive connections meant to allow the individual to respond in order to protect and continue life. Creativity, as defined above, does the exact same thing. It initiates a response that allows life to evolve, change and progress. It is meant to transform and alter how one thinks and sees things and how to express those changes and feelings, be it in colors, words, music, or any other creative flow.

It is my hope that this refocusing will not distract or annoy the few who have continued to return here to read what is written. As a writer, I need that element of coherency to continue. My apologies for taking so long to get to this point. Some of us are slower on some levels than others might be. It is also my desire to fulfill my own purpose. Hope you continue to read and please leave comments. They are always welcome. And last of all, thank you so much Jane.

About 1sojournal

Loves words and language. Dances on paper to her own inner music. Loves to share and keeps several blogs to facilitate that. They can be found here: http://1sojournal.wordpress.com/ http://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/ http://claudetteellinger.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Refocusing On Creativity and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.