Watering Can

 

Intuition, the path of associations. Like the crumbs along the way that can nurture a hungry weary traveler. I find it strongest in the process of writing poetry. I have been visiting sites that offer poetry prompts, and can not leave them before that small quiet voice begins to whisper in my ear, “Here, start with this/these words, then just follow.” Have decided that I need a place to bring those whispered words to full sunlight, and this one seems the best.

 Watering Can

You remind me of me, squat and round, resting on brick wall,
mortared by my own making. Beauty that once might
have been, now tarnished by age and long usage. Yet,
holding another beauty within: waters of life
that with a deft touch, spill out to feed, to flourish
whatever is within reach. So too, I hold within a flow
of words that once unleashed, tell my story.

Elizabeth Crawford  8/8/10

for Mag Tales prompt: Mag 26
http://magpietales.blogspot.com/

About 1sojournal

Loves words and language. Dances on paper to her own inner music. Loves to share and keeps several blogs to facilitate that. They can be found here: http://1sojournal.wordpress.com/ http://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/ http://claudetteellinger.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Watering Can and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to Watering Can

  1. Catherine says:

    Well done. Quite lovely.

  2. Rebecca says:

    Bowing to you. Very well said. Beautifully described and narrated.

    • 1sojournal says:

      Thank you Rebecca, and I’d return the bow, but I’m an old woman and might not be able to get back up again. Will you settle for a nod and a grin? Not the royal nod, just an ordinary common one.

      Elizabeth

  3. gospelwriter says:

    Bows anyway. 🙂 You needn’t return the favour, but this is Poetry, with a capital P (it was accidental initially, but its aptness begged to let it stay)… hmm, falling over my words today. Well, I loved your poem!

    • 1sojournal says:

      Okay, I got up and at least did an abbreviated bow, in return. You were the original inspiration. I could only follow suit, lol. I like that: Poetry with a captal P. That one is definitely going in the kudo box, in the closet. Along with the blush I’m feeling creeping up my face. Haven’t done that in a really long time.

      Thanks so much for the comments, compliments, and the inspiration, as well as the site addie to satisfy it.

      Elizabeth

  4. Elizabeth That is very beautifully written. It almost made me cry. And thanks for your comment.

    • 1sojournal says:

      And thanks in return. But, cry? It’s supposed to make you smile. I find a great deal of value in that story. And am hoping that most of the tears are in the past, but doubt that one. I do know better,

      Elizabeth

  5. Helen says:

    This is stunning …. and describes my emotions too.

    • 1sojournal says:

      Helen, my Mother’s name, meaning ‘shining light’. Stunning isn’t bad either, lol. You folks are gonna make me blush a lot. As least we know the blood’s still circulating. I’m glad you found resonance within my poem. That really makes it all worthwhile.

      Elizabeth

  6. This is a beautiful poem, Elizabeth; this line especially so…

    ‘…Yet,
    holding another beauty within: waters of life…”

    I never thought of the watering can quite that way, other than the obvious. It really is a beautiful thing.
    A great perspective.

    Paul

    • 1sojournal says:

      You get points just for your name. Paul is my older brother, Russell was my father. Although this is my first time here on Mag Tales, I feel a like I’ve found a new extended family. Thank you, especially for the beauty you found.

      Elizabeth

  7. That is so beautiful! I really enjoyed your perspective on this – wonderful. 🙂

  8. brian says:

    all just waiting to be poured out on the fertile soil…excellent magpie…

  9. Marilyn says:

    Your words are so very beautiful, I had to re-read them, to take them in again and again. Wonderful

  10. Mary says:

    Makes sense to me, Elizabeth! Maybe a bit tarnished by age…but experience enhances the depth and flow of words!

  11. systematicweasel says:

    Wonderfully done! You’ve put a whole new perspective on the watering can. =)

    -Weasel

  12. This is excellent. I want to write it down in my journal and read it daily.

    • 1sojournal says:

      Ahh Angie, music for a former teacher’s heart and soul. And by all means, do that. Write it in your journal, I did some of that this morning, myself.

      It has been discovered that although the learning process is completed in only four steps, the human psyche must interact with something about three hundred times before it becomes a natural and instinctive part of the being. That might be why so many of us want to skip that third step, practicing what we have come to know that we didn’t know. And for me, my daily journal is the absolute cornerstone of that pesky third step.

      So, for today, and in this moment, you get a big capital ‘A’ in my imaginary grade book. Congratulations, go out and celebrate, but take your journal with you. It’s amazing what happens when you do the familiar in a new and different environment. Talk about a learning process, lol.

      Elizabeth

  13. Jingle says:

    smart words..
    enjoyed your humor.

    • 1sojournal says:

      Thank you for your comments, Jingle. I’m glad you found humor in what you read. Laughter is the best medicine for finding a balance in a decidedly unbalanced world. I seek it out whenever and wherever possible.

      Elizabeth

  14. katheworsley says:

    beautifully written….we all have those words inside us

    • 1sojournal says:

      Kathe, thank you for the ‘beautiful’, I like that a lot. And yes, we all do have those words within us. But, there are those times, more for some, less for others, when we fail to allow them to speak. Limit their expression with feelings of self-doubt and other woundedness. Personally, I think that most, if not all writers, are at some point in their being, healers. Reaching out, with a laying on of words, to heal first themselves, and then others. Oh, oh, I think I just opened the door to another poem.

      Thanks for stopping and commenting, and most of all for the inspiration,

      Elizabeth

  15. Elise says:

    Wow! that was fantastic!

    excellently magged!

  16. 1sojournal says:

    Elise, thank you for your enthusiasm. But, as per usual, the minute it was finished and up, I could see a couple of ways to make it better, smoother, etc. Poems are seldom every really finished. Mostly they just keep whispering. The ones that don’t are a surprise, and often become favorites because of that continued calm and silence.

    Elizabeth

  17. beyourownstory says:

    Love this little tidbit! Great images, lovely tributes. Thank you for following your inspiration.

    • 1sojournal says:

      Thank you for being an ongoing part of it. Did you ever imagine, back there in college, anything even remotely like this? It’s all so open Susan, with poems in every direction, wherever I look. I’m trying to be careful, but damned it’s hard. Oh, and I have another one to show you, lol.

      Elizabeth

  18. Tumblewords says:

    Ah, yes, the rewards of life! Lovely.

  19. I am sure you have thought of it more often, and probably more in depth. What is it about a poem, or words, that move us to tears? I think sometimes it is the combinations of the words, or the sounds of the words together are soooooo beautiful. At least that is one of the things, and of course it is like a spider web, which reaches out in all directions, to bring in unexpected ideas. That is some of what it is for me. I also copied your poem into my journal. I will like to read it over and over, to reach to it’s far depths to find what is at the end of each thread.

    • 1sojournal says:

      Annell,
      first off, I went and read your biography yesterday. That is quite a story. In it, I found a woman who has spent her life looking to find a certain light, letting that light and its accompanying shadows, fill her to the brim. Then that same woman pours that light into an act of creation so that it flows back out to touch whatever comes close. And in doing that she feeds and flourishes the world that surrounds her. Like the watering can in this poem, and like this other woman, myself, who fills herself with words, then pours them out to feed and flourish the world around me.

      When one taps the edge of a piece of china or crystal, just so, the object vibrates and sends out a clear bell like tone in waves of sound that can be felt as well as heard. That is what is called resonance. And for me, that resonance in a poem, is what can and will make me cry, laugh with delight, or quiet me to stillness deep within. The poem, something within, taps me just so and sets me vibrating throughout my system. It happens with a suddenness, as if I have been caught unaware, and am startled by that vibration as it shivers its way through my very nervous system. Something I recognize as self, be that sight, sound, thought, or spiritual truth.

      I have recently found that happening a lot, not just with poems, but with almost every glance around me. Perhaps what I have experienced over the last few years has now found an avenue to expression. But, that resonance whispers in my inner ear with words that I must write, like another woman who must bring a certain light to her canvases.

      This particular site was originally intended for prose concerning the honing of ones intuition in order to facilitate the creative process. However, because that resonance has been happening so often, I have decided to put some of the run-off from that process here. It seemed more than fitting given the title of this blog, lol. Without further ado, I’m issuing an invitation to you and anyone else who might be interested, to visit my main poetry blog, located here:
      http://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/
      There you will find both poems and music, as well as some of my amatuerish attempts at visual art. I do not use the word amatuerish in any derogatory sense. I lack any real formal training in the realm of visual art, but find a very real sense of soul satisfaction in playing with lines, patterns, and color.

      And I am glad that you copied the poem into your journal. That is soul satisfying as well,

      Elizabeth

  20. willow says:

    Wonderful word picture. I love the notion of our stories flowing from patina-ed spouts!

    • 1sojournal says:

      Thank you Willow, and I like that image as well. See it when my granddaughters come and ask how it was when I was a child, or we open the photo album and the memories spill with the stories.

      Elizabeth

  21. ~T~ says:

    Lovely description of inner beauty and a life lengthened with service.

Comments are closed.