Wondrous Child Within

 

For Writers Island prompt #33  Wondrous
http://writersisland.wordpress.com/

Took a break last night and watched Toy Story III. I really am finding the animation movies a wonderful experience. But this story seems to hold a special place within me. The little girl character, Bonnie, is a living, breathing example of what wonder is and should always be. And yes, I know she is a cartoon character, but that just means she is an amalgamation of all of the qualities of wonder in action.

Hers is a world of endless magical possibilities. It shows in her eyes, which alight at the merest suggestion of play and imagination. She steps, without hesitation, into a world where all things are possible. She is the epitome of childhood wonder, a quality that is valued highly, even treasured, by an adult world that sees it as innocence that will eventually be lost.

Yes, we must all grow up. We must all go through a loss of that innocent view of the world as a place of endless possibilities just waiting to be discovered. We come to know that exploration can be both harmful and full of pain. So, we stop exploring and get on with being proper adult beings. Putting our noses, sometimes our whole beings, to the grindstone, and getting on with getting on.

Last time I was here, I wrote about the quest for soul. That invisible aspect of the human psyche that is constantly changing and evolving. That essence of our individuality. Change can’t happen without curiosity and curiosity is a major part of being that child filled with wonder about all those possibilities. We mourn the loss of innocence because it means the loss of that child within us.

But, innocence is ignorance. A lack of knowing how the world works and understanding that some possibilities simply aren’t efficient, or healthy. As I grow older, I have come to connect that child with the soul in each of us. Keeping her alive is essential to our well-being and our own wholeness.

Think about that for a moment. Who are the people who bring fresh air into your world? Who make you laugh, even dream? Who seem, by their very existence, to dare you, challenge you to be more than you have been. Bring light into your grindstone existence?

I had a phone call earlier this morning. It was from a friend of over forty years. I love to hear the sound of her voice because it immediately brings a smile to my face, and a matching lilt to my own communication. She has learned the secret of nurturing and keeping her own inner child alive, filled with wonder, always expecting possibilities.

And there is a secret to be known about all of that. The child within us doesn’t die, but she often gets put away in storage when we begin to take on the actions and responsibilities of adulthood. In the movie, Andy, the owner of all of the toys, is now seventeen and on his way to college. His mother insists that he must sort the things he will need for this new adventure into adulthood, from those of his childhood that will no longer be needed. He does that only reluctantly.

In the end, he gives the toys to the one person who will truly appreciate them, Bonnie. But, in doing so, Andy captures the essence that is Bonnie and plays with her and the toys. The child in him resurfaces and lives again. And we are all capable of having that experience.

The soul is the author of creativity, imagination. Both of those elements are essential to the wonder that is the child within us. When we explore and get involved in our own creativity, we are allowing that inner child to breathe, to be, to become. And she will always lead us to that door of possibilities. We can deny her, shut her away in some attic room of the mind, but she does remain, always waiting, and more than ready to step through that doorway.

It is never too late to revive her. But, it does mean we have to actively choose to do so. For me, that choice is simple. I write everyday. Writing is creativity. Everyday, I open that door to possibilities. I make that choice. And each time I do that, I find the wonder that is the child within me, often running out in front of my older, slower self, to explore some new idea, some new train of thought, a path I have not yet ventured down. I find the wonder in me, in being me, in exploring those ever present possibilities.

Yes, we have to learn and to replace our ignorance with knowledge. But, that doesn’t mean we have to relinquish that child-like wonder. We can, and should, treasure it. It is what makes us grow and evolve. It is that world of possibilities.

How do you connect with, and keep your inner child nurtured, her wonder alive, and well?

About 1sojournal

Loves words and language. Dances on paper to her own inner music. Loves to share and keeps several blogs to facilitate that. They can be found here: http://1sojournal.wordpress.com/ http://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/ http://claudetteellinger.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Wondrous Child Within and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Wondrous Child Within

  1. vivinfrance says:

    A beautiful piece of prose writing, which awakened the same sort of response as my mother gave me, just before she died at 80: “I don’t understand it, I’m still 16 inside.”
    Pray that we never lose that sense of wonder and enjoyment of fun.

    • 1sojournal says:

      I find that those around me who encourage that state of wonder are people who have lived their lives creatively, constantly nurturing that sense of wonder. Like yourself, Viv, these individuals, to me, seem more alive, more alert, more aware. I pray that I will always be such a person. Thanks for your comments, and your Mother’s statement touched me deeply, and reminded me of my own parent during those last few months. She genuinely seemed confused by the fragile old woman she had become, then would whip around and lay a number on one of us that would have all of us laughing out loud. And I would see that twinkle in her eye and know that her inner child was still there, still breathing.

      Elizabeth

  2. pamela says:

    Elizabeth a wonderfully written post. Now you have me thinking. I know I will never feel my age. Life is supposed to be fun.
    Pamela

    • 1sojournal says:

      Fun, exciting, full of wonder, wondrous. I said something of that sort to my oldest daughter the other day. That I never see myself as the old woman I now am. She seemed a bit shocked. She asked me to explain. Told her that I am never more than 35 in my dreams, both sleeping and day time fantasies. Then laughed at her look of puzzlement. Told her she’d understand some day.

      Thanks for reading and for commenting,

      Elizabeth

  3. kaykuala says:

    Appreciating the usual and normal is often missed by most. Now I know it makes one young forever. Thanks for sharing

    • 1sojournal says:

      Thanks for visiting and commenting Kaykuala. The normal and usual always holds some surprises if we are willing to look for them. It is sad how many won’t take that time, seem almost afraid to do so. My younger sister comes alive at Christmas and I see the child she once was right there in her eyes. We all need to give ourselves that permission,

      Elizabeth

  4. Strummed Words says:

    Let the child in us live forevermore 🙂

    • 1sojournal says:

      I would certainly second that notion, Strummed Words. I look at the ID’s of those who visit my sites and know that child is alive and well. Yours being one of them. Thank you for sharing your thoughts,

      Elizabeth

  5. Beautifully written piece. Sometimes I even find it hard to stay up with myself. There just aren’t enough hours of the day. I find wonder in all things, some good, some bad, and some even lots worst in life — strange, mysterious. Let’s stay here, even as we keep moving.

  6. Amanda Moore says:

    I love animated feature films they give the viewer the chance to relax and forget the pressures of being a grownup. They are fun and laughter is such a wonderful medicine for any soul! Lovely piece for the wondrous prompt!

    • 1sojournal says:

      Thank you Amanda and I agree. Also know that when we are relaxed, we learn more and retain it better. Just another reason to keep that child alive. And yes, laughter is often the very best medicine.

      Elizabeth

Comments are closed.