Come Celebrate

 

For Writers Island prompt: #35 Celebrate
http://writersisland.wordpress.com/

It’s Christmas day, a day of celebration for many. A day of gathering and well wishes. I would like to extend those well wishes to each and everyone of you. My wish is that you find a way to celebrate who and what you are, not just today, but into the coming New Year, and everyday for the rest of your life.

My favorite poet is Lucille Clifton. When I saw the prompt for today, that one word celebrate, I immediately thought of Lucille and her poem, one of my favorites:

won’t you celebrate with me

     by Lucille Clifton

won’t you celebrate with me
what I have shaped into
a kind of life? I had no model.
born in Babylon both nonwhite and woman
what did I see to be except myself?
I made it up
here on this bridge between
starshine and clay, my one hand
holding tight my other hand; come celebrate
with me that everyday
something has tried to kill me
and has failed.

Have to love that, or at least like the idea that fuels it. Each day we have choices, but one of the most important ones, is that one about how we choose to see our own person. Are you breathing? Then, like Lucille, celebrate the fact that you can and are doing so. Celebrate the gift of your own uniqueness. Celebrate the life you have made with your own hands.

That is my wish for you. Have a warm and loving holiday, with yourself, or with others.

Elizabeth

 

About 1sojournal

Loves words and language. Dances on paper to her own inner music. Loves to share and keeps several blogs to facilitate that. They can be found here: http://1sojournal.wordpress.com/ http://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/ http://claudetteellinger.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Come Celebrate and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Come Celebrate

  1. Love the poem too! Couldn’t help but laugh! First Christmas laugh of the morning. And may you have the Merriest! And may something fail again today!

    • 1sojournal says:

      Annell, I have loved this poem for many years, and even heard her read it. She passed away this year and will be dearly missed by many. Have a really grand day and yes, may something fail again, in yours as well,

      Hugs
      Elizabeth

  2. Irene says:

    O this is wonderful. Thanks for sharing and Merry Christmas Elizabeth! Love it.

    • 1sojournal says:

      Thank you Irene, I do so love a poem with a kick-ass ending, lol. And this lady does them very well. Hope your Holidays are filled with surprises that say love and all good things,

      Elizabeth

  3. vivinfrance says:

    Thank you, Elizabeth. A beautiful poem and your words, too, are encouraging.

    • 1sojournal says:

      Hi Viv, really good to see you this morning. I really love the way this woman writes. She is the epitome of down-home wisdom, spoken with a definite twinkle in her eye. Hope you are warm and cosy and having a really good Holiday,

      Elizabeth

  4. ninotaziz says:

    Dear Elizabeth,
    That is one profound poem and thank you so much for sharing. I hope you had a wonderful Christmas. I love the spirit of Christmas, so I celebrate with my girls in our own way.

    • 1sojournal says:

      Ninotaziz, thank you for your generous words and well-wishes. I had a wonderful Christmas and I, like you, have a tendency to create my own traditions. I really liked your gift to all of the poets, what a wonderfully creative way to celebrate with all of us,

      Elizabeth

  5. ninotaziz says:

    I do have trouble with wordpress. I hope you received my comment, Elizabeth.

    Dear Elizabeth,
    That is one profound poem and thank you so much for sharing. I hope you had a wonderful Christmas. I love the spirit of Christmas, so I celebrate with my girls in our own way.

    • 1sojournal says:

      Ninotaziz, I know that on my sites, when a new name comes up, I am notified and must come on site to approve the comment before it will appear here. Sorry, if that caused you a problem. It shouldn’t now that I have approved your ID.

      Elizabeth

  6. Berowne says:

    Heartfelt season’s greetings from that bridge between starshine and clay.

  7. Elizabeth, thank you so much for sharing this poem. It really made me stop and think about how lucky I am to be white and straight in America (and my mom taught me that comes with enormous obligation to work on behalf of others). As a feminist, I honor Ms. Clifton’s writing; as a mother, I hope I have taught my daughter never to take for granted our freedoms.

    Here’s mine, sort of a twist on the theme, a true story… Peace, Amy
    http://sharplittlepencil.wordpress.com/2010/12/29/graduation-day-celebrate-writers-isle/

    Amy, it’s been a few hectic days and I’m slow at catching up. Lucille wrote a poem about her children (one of many), in which she said that they defined her as a bit odd because she, you know, writes poems. I loved that line and have often thought about it when writing my own poems. Some of my children read them, others are a bit more like Lucille’s offspring. All that is to say, we leave a great deal to our children when we choose to write about our daily existence. I am sure your daughter has learned much about freedom and its attendant obligations and responsibilities. We teach also by example and you seem to be an individual who thinks before responding. That’s a cornerstone example that serves well. Glad you enjoyed the poem, it always sets up deep resonance within me. And thanks for your comments,

    Elizabeth

Comments are closed.