Plan B

 

For One Shoot Sunday
http://onestoppoetry.com/

Plan B

“Too much work,” he said, “not really safe.”

She had to beg. She needed that window, the light, needed to breathe. He finally agreed. Took his time. She was patient. Finally he was finished, she fixed his favorite dinner, and he fell asleep.

She crawled through the window and ran.

Elizabeth Crawford 2/13/11

*image by Sean McCormick, his site can be found by clicking on the image.

About 1sojournal

Loves words and language. Dances on paper to her own inner music. Loves to share and keeps several blogs to facilitate that. They can be found here: http://1sojournal.wordpress.com/ http://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/ http://claudetteellinger.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Plan B and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Plan B

  1. dustus says:

    Certainly sounds as if that window was worth the effort she spent begging for it! Something is to be said about patience and persistence, but in this case all I can say is “run like the wind!” lol Cool 55

  2. hpicasso says:

    I am a fan of compression and a fan of your write here…I felt a part of a DIY project, mixed with appreciative compliance…”she fixed his favorite dinner” what a lead in to her departure…nice

    Peace, hp

    if you care to
    http://hpicasso.blogspot.com/2011/02/picture-prompt-challenge.html

    • 1sojournal says:

      hpicasso, thanks for reading between the lines. And I really liked your poem. Those rock like boulders of memory are difficult to move at times,

      Elizabeth

  3. Wow, what a great story you wove in such a short span, wonderful!

    Here’s mine:
    http://wp.me/pZXMF-sm

  4. Padmavani says:

    Hello Elizabeth
    I love your title Plan B. You made me smile at 2am. What can I say I must try my hand at flash fiction sometime 🙂
    Cheers
    Padmavani

    • 1sojournal says:

      Thank you Padmavani. I am for more familiar with poetry, than flash fiction, but have been wanting to try it for a while. This one stood up and waved to me as soon as I saw the image. Lot of memories and feelings released in this one,

      Elizabeth

  5. hedgewitch says:

    Very very cool! Clever woman. Enjoyed this immensely.

  6. LeiffyV says:

    Huh, it’s always the resourceful who can capitalize on others to garner their freedom. Great piece here, you did a wonderful job in such a small window (as it were). Thanks for sharing Elizabeth, glad to see you still around and kicking!

    • 1sojournal says:

      Hi to you as well. I’ve been kicking all along, just in different places. But, as I said earlier, I’ve wanted to try the short fiction for a while now, and this image spoke to me in so many ways. Thanks for stopping and commenting,

      Elizabeth

  7. signed .............bkm says:

    Smart Lady….she knew what she was doing….clever…bkm

  8. Like a simple request and a breathless moment of waiting but all underscored with quite insidious tensions emanating from a dark story! Very clever!

    Thanks Gemma, I think this story might resonate with many. Sometimes, patience is the only weapon available,

    Elizabeth

  9. Wonderful. I remember at a lecture I attended, it was said, “there isn’t a woman who has ever been with a man, who isn’t or hasn’t been abused.” He might not hit you, but there are other forms of abuse. More women go to the hospital because of the partner they are with, then for any other reason. It’s strange and it is that other half of the species, that some of us are so attracted to. It’s just not always safe. Thanks for the beautiful write.

    Thank you Annell. There is a whole train of thought in what you’ve said. I believe much of that reality came about when half the species decided that it was the only one capable of thought, thus rule, and also decided that the other half of the species was created only to be used. But, that is far too much history to cover here in this limited space. And far better writers have already done some of that.

    Elizabeth

Comments are closed.