15 Minutes: Breathing Space

 

Intermission and Explanation

This blog is dedicated to exploring and enhancing ones Intuitive faculties through the creative process. I thought it was appropriate for this story I am writing about my experience of having those 15 Minutes of fame or celebrity. But, now I’d like to take a few minutes to explain one of the concepts I am obviously weaving through this personal story telling.

And that is the idea of The Hero’s Journey. Each of us travel a path through our life and that path is created by the choices we make. It is our journey. I firmly believe that journey is meant to create the very best human being we have the potential to become. And because that is my belief, I also think that the best we can be is our own hero.

The oldest teaching tool of humankind is story. Through story we learn to live, survive, love and nurture ourselves and those around us. Myths and legends are stories, that have their beginnings in very real people and truth. That is why they resonate within us so strongly. We relate on a deep level to these tales, even when they are ancient.

Joseph Campbell, the leading mythologist of the past century, tells us that myth is actually the story of the development of the human psyche. It is familiar to us because we live it each and every moment. And one of the most oft repeated and retold stories is that of the Hero and his/her journey and adventures.

There are stages in that journey. Places, experiences that are standard to the story and the development of the individual hero. And, I believe, if we are following our hearts and our own inner creative process, we will encounter those stages along whatever path our choices lead us to.

We are born with a clean slate: innocent of life and knowledge. That means that life can be seen as a series of lessons in which we engage in order to learn how to be the unique individual we are meant to be. Campbell also tells us that we will only find that particular wholeness (uniqueness) if we choose to “follow our bliss.” Our bliss is our Creativity. Without it we can not evolve, progress, or become.

I have obviously chosen a path of writing. That is the central fact of this current story. But, it is also the central fact of all writers, of all Artists, and of all creative human beings.  Each of us owns creative energy. We can not grow without that element built into our very systems. If we live creatively, we are engaging those energies with every choice we make.

Intuition plays a huge role in that process. It is the voice of our inner being, our subconscious mind, our heart and mind, our soul. As I have been writing the present story, I have been aware of many of the places where I made choices along the way, many of them were not conscious decisions, they were made in the moment. And yet, as they have unfolded in my own words, I see a path built one step at a time, that could only bring me here, to this present moment and the individual I am and am still becoming.

In other words, I am learning from my own story. That is exciting and just a bit scary, as well. I am finding connective links I had not been aware of in the past. Mile markers that I never noticed before, guidance that came from within, as well as from without. Although I was alone on my journey, I was never without companionship, both interior and exterior.

So, today, I want to take a moment to list the stages of the Hero’s Journey as written by Christopher Vogler in his book The Writer’s Journey: 2nd Edition. I bought the book based solely on its title. Mr. Vogler was setting out to explain the stages a writer must incorporate into any story, or film script, that involves the development of a hero. He uses many of the most popular films and novels as examples throughout the book.

At first, I thought I had made a mistake. But, as I read through the book, I began to see all those connective links between his material and any individual who was living a life aimed at becoming the very best that he/she might become. He explains each stage of the journey, what it entails, and the necessary ingredients that must be in place for that particular stage to be successful and lead to the next one. If only life were that linear.

It isn’t. So we may encounter any of these stages at any time and in any order. Not only is his book a good writing manual, in that it focuses on Universal experiences which will produce relativity in written material (including poetry), but it is also a good map for a life’s journey. He also explains the archetypes we will encounter on that journey: the Hero, Mentor, Threshold Guardian, Herald, Shapeshifter, Shadow, and the Trickster.

If you have been following the excerpts of my story, you might recognize several of these individuals as characters already present in it. But, just as the stages are not always neatly encountered by rote in life, these individuals often recur in other stages, and in the form of new contacts and personalities. That’s where ones intuition steps in and allows us to discern what we are really dealing with. One of the primary functions of intuition is self-preservation and it is also essential to any journey.

Here are the stages listed in Vogler’s book. After each one, I will put my own terms and definitions in parenthesis.

1. Ordinary World     (Comfort zone ie., ice-cream, American Idol, and a good book. Not necessarily in that order).

2. Call To Adventure   (Movement – getting the couch potato off of the couch)

3. Refusal of The Call   (I can not, will not do that under any circumstances)

4. Meeting With The Mentor    (Holy smoke, mirrors and magic too)

5. Crossing The First Threshold   (Crap, are we talking commitment?)

6. Tests, Allies, Enemies            (Discernment in every day living – finding like spirits and the crazymakers)

7. Approach To the Inmost Cave  (Finding strength in our weaknesses – shadow aspects)

8. Ordeal      (Counting the cost of the journey)

9. Reward <Seizing The Sword>    (Benefits and consequences)

10. The Road Back    (Returning Home – They’re gonna think I’m nuts)

11. Resurrection        (Rebirth, new life and acceptance of a new me)

12. Return With the Elixir  ( I have something I’d like to share with you)

Solely for your entertainment during this intermission:

Hers   http://www.youtube.com/embed/FVhrIfaPKxwrel=0&amp;hd=1”     

And His  http://www.youtube.com/embed/Lz7LR3wbO_Yrel=0&amp;hd=1”                                          

                                                                          (story to be continued…)

About 1sojournal

Loves words and language. Dances on paper to her own inner music. Loves to share and keeps several blogs to facilitate that. They can be found here: http://1sojournal.wordpress.com/ http://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/ http://claudetteellinger.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in 15 Minutes: Breathing Space and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to 15 Minutes: Breathing Space

  1. Ellen says:

    I so believe what you wrote; I have always thought and said, everyone is creative.
    Everyone is intuitive, it doesn’t mean they listen. It is a matter of choice. I listen, I knew I was going to receive news this week, about art I had entered. I did, it still surprised me… I always think I’m having wishful thinking. I need to pay more attention, it is wise if you like said, connect all three, mind, body n’ spirit.
    Thanks for sharing this book; It honestly looks like the book I mentioned yesterday. I need a book to help me write and here you are sharing this. Profound~

    Thank you 😀

    • 1sojournal says:

      Profound? I call it synchronicity. The energy we create when we truly lean in and listen to the essence of our being. My life abounds with it and that, in turn, touches others and affects their lives. That isn’t a boast, it’s just reality. You are following your bliss, and because you are, the synchronicity is drawn to help you see and do whatever is necessary. It truly is an energy flow we create by becoming aware and heeding that inner call.

      And that surprise factor, keep and cherish it. I am still surprised when someone, like yourself, says they actually understand what I have written. It is the awe of the child within us, finding her place in the world. And she, my friend, is the true source of our imagination.

      Elizabeth

  2. Susannah says:

    Wonderful Elizabeth. I am familiar with the hero’s journey and the stages involved and actually once did a series of digital paintings to represent the process. I have just looked to see if any of them are online and there are three of them in this post here. – http://thelionandthelightningbolt.blogspot.com/2010/11/out-of-that-windspun-night.html

    I am enjoying reading this series Elizabeth.

    • 1sojournal says:

      Susannah, I went and took a look at your art work. Love the colors and the quotes. What a wonderful feel to your entire post. And you just confirmed something that someone else suggested to me as a future project, and gave me some ideas that just might work. Thank you.

      I’m glad you are enjoying the series. I am surprised at how much I am enjoying doing it.

      Elizabeth

  3. I enjoyed this read….and I especially liked that you called it the intermission. It is the space “between” that I love! Over looked, unseen you have used it well.

    • 1sojournal says:

      I wasn’t aware that I needed that space til I got here, lol. It just made sense and I wanted the break, without a total blank space. I too, love that in between place, unexpected things happen there.

      Elizabeth

  4. Irene says:

    Wow Elizabeth! I’m following your thread..

    • 1sojournal says:

      Do you know the story of Ariadne, Irene? She owned the magic thread, that when unraveled, led to the center of the Labrynth, where the Minotaur lived. That is a Heroic Journey, just as all of our journeys are. We unravel the thread and follow it to our inmost being, to our soul,

      Elizabeth

Comments are closed.