15 Minutes:part 12

 

Catching Up: Guardian Angels Sometimes Come in Strange Disguises

We had been given a small packet when arriving for the entrance exams. It informed us that we were to wait a couple of weeks and then contact the Career Counseling Department at the University for our results and a possible appointment. It included names, telephone numbers and extensions of those individuals. I put it all in a folder and buried it in the bottom drawer of my dresser.

I was pretty sure that I’d done okay on the Reading and Writing exam. But, the fiasco with the Math exam was totally demoralizing. I’d done three answers (pretty much guessing on all of them), got up and walked to the desk of the woman in charge, handed it to her silently while looking around that room filled with individuals half my age.

She’d taken the booklet, smiled, and said, “Been a while, hunh?” I nodded, thinking, “You have no idea, lady.” Then turned and walked away. Went back to my life of wife and mother. Scared myself silly with what I had done and never once spoke to anybody about my failure to get through that initial threshold experience.

Life, the Universe, or God (if you prefer), all have a tendency to work things out in strange, sometimes baffling manners. Another year and a half slipped by and one morning I found myself sitting in the office of a female attorney, filing for a divorce because my husband had come home drunk, at five in the morning, and picked up my full grown German Shepherd and thrown her across the room. As I watched her slide down the wall in total horror, he turned to me and said, “Now, it’s your turn.”

A month later, I put a pot of water on the stove to boil for spaghetti, went to my bedroom, while my four children did homework and colored at the kitchen table. I sat down on my bed. I had asked my 15 year old son to go downstairs and put a load of wash in the dryer. When he  turned it on, it sounded like a jet taking off from the bowels of the earth. The freezer compartment on my refrigerator had stopped freezing two days before. My car had died yesterday, I had perhaps fifty dollars to my name, my estranged spouse was in a rehab program in another state, and I had received no money in almost three weeks. I was depressed.

But, life goes on, and after a few very dark moments, I got up to check the boiling pot, which wasn’t boiling and was as cold as when I’d put it on the electric range. I’d had it. I looked up at the ceiling and said, “Okay God, if this is all some sort of cosmic joke, could I at least know the punch line?” The phone rang.

I grabbed it, said, “Hello.” It was an obscene phone caller. All I could think of was, “This is the punch line?” Started laughing out loud until I had tears in my eyes, until my caller apologized and quietly hung up. That only made me laugh even harder, while my children stared at me, worried I’m sure, that I had finally gone round the bend.

Laughter is the best medicine. Mine, the very sound of it, was like a cool calming breeze, blowing new scents and color into all those dark corners. I grinned at the kids and said, “Okay, it’s late March, so we’ll have to put up some clothes lines in the backyard. The guy next door works on cars, knows our situation and I’ll ask him to take a look at the station wagon tomorrow. We still have the chest freezer downstairs, and three of the burners on the stove still work. We may still be in business.”

My son grinned back at me and said, “Mom, I think my friend Melvin and I might be able to fix the dryer temporarily. Would that help?” I nodded and they did get it fixed within the next few days. And I dug out that folder and called the head of the Career Counseling Department and asked for an appointment, telling him I had taken the entrance exams several months before. He said he’d get them pulled up and we made an appointment.

He walked into the room, grinning and said, “You know these results are pretty spectacular for several reasons. You absolutely aced the Reading and Writing exam. In fact, you placed in the top ten percent of all the people who have taken that exam since this school was founded. Do you have any idea of how many people that is? On the other hand,” and he grinned again, “You completely blew the Math exam. It’s amazing.”

A bit confused by his seeming pleasure, I asked very timidly, “So, what does that mean for my chances of even getting in here?”

“Oh,” he said with another grin, “that just means you’ll have to take some remedial Math courses to catch up. But, your scores on the other exam tell us you are exactly what we want on our campus. Furthermore, I can promise you that we will do everything in our power to see that you not only come here, but remain here, for however long it might take.

To that end, I have made an appointment with the head of the Financial Aid Department and you are to go straight to his office from here. When you are done there, you can come back here and I’ll explain the registration process to you. Then we can discuss the course schedule and the best path for you during your first semester. How does that sound?”

I almost blurted, “Holy Shit!” Instead, heart beating in disbelieve and sheer wonder, I thanked him profusely. As I got out of the chair, he gave me directions to the Financial Aid Office and then smiled, while shaking my hand, and said, “Welcome to UWParkside, Elizabeth, I look forward to seeing what you can really do.”

                                                                 (to be continued…)

Note: This is an excerpt from the story of how I came to be part of an Anthology that was nominated for a Grammy Award. The prompt at Writers Island for this morning was Tribute. I wanted to pay tribute to some of the people who helped me to get to that experience and those so-called 15 minutes of fame. The rest of the saga is here on this site and will continue. Other offerings for the prompt can be found here:   http://writersisland.wordpress.com/

About 1sojournal

Loves words and language. Dances on paper to her own inner music. Loves to share and keeps several blogs to facilitate that. They can be found here: http://1sojournal.wordpress.com/ http://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/ http://claudetteellinger.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in 15 Minutes: part 12 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to 15 Minutes:part 12

  1. vivinfrance says:

    What a story! My admiration for you grows with every post you make: a tribute to Elizabeth…

  2. pamela says:

    You are a truly amazing woman, Elizabeth.
    Good thing you didn’t blurt out, “Holy Shit”, ha ha ha.
    Love the punch line being an obscene caller, life is funny sometimes.

    Pamela

    • 1sojournal says:

      Pamela, I can occassionally restrain myself, but I’m surprised as well. And the call was so immediate, what else could I do but laugh. When the guy apologized and quietly hung up, all restraint was gone. It really was terribly funny despite the circumstances. Thanks for reading,

      Elizabeth

  3. Reflections says:

    It’s funny how when things sometimes seem their worst, simply put, the create the first step in something fabulous…. Great telling of the brief moments, glimpses of what can really be.

    • 1sojournal says:

      Thank you Reflections, I am thoroughly enjoying writing these excerpts and stringing them together. Every small death, brings forth new life. Hard to remember sometimes, but true.

      Elizabeth

  4. Gloria says:

    This was wonderfully written and wonderful to read…..such an inspiration.

  5. Mary says:

    It seems that when you lived among lemons, you found a way to make lemonade. It is nice to read about your guardian angels along the way.

    • 1sojournal says:

      Mary, I’m sure there are many who would not see my anonymous caller as a guardian angel, but he opened the door to one of the most magical experiences I have ever had. And personally, I love lemonade. Thanks for reading along with me.

      Elizabeth

  6. Meryl Jaffe says:

    How wonderfully inspiring! How wonderful that people can sometimes see past the scores and look at the person. I look forward to reading more… thank you!

    Meryl Jaffe
    http://departingthetext.blogspot.com

  7. Meryl Jaffe says:

    How wonderfully inspiring! Good luck, I look forward to reading more.

    Meryl Jaffe
    http://departingthetext.blogspot.com

    • 1sojournal says:

      Welcome Meryl, you got tossed in my spamometer for some reason, but I found you and pulled you out before you got totally lost. Writing is never an easy choice in life, and I am all about encouraging others in that direction. These excerpts do have a point, but the details might also help others to stay with that choice and find its fruition in their own experiences. At least, that is my hope.

      Thanks for reading and for commenting. I hope you do return. There’s a bit more coming.

      Elizabeth

  8. Tilly Bud says:

    I laughed aloud at you laughing at your obscene caller, and him apologising.

    This post made me sigh and smile throughout.

    • 1sojournal says:

      Thanks for following along Tilly Bud. That phone call broke through perhaps like nothing else could. It really cleared away all those depressive cobwebs that had been accumulating over the weeks.

      Elizabeth

  9. Ellen says:

    I believe in signs and yours were loud n’ clear! Loved that you burst out laughing, it does come down to that cry or laugh!

    • 1sojournal says:

      Ellen, I couldn’t agree with you more. It often comes down to that and laughter is so much better. We all do our share of the other. But, I have always believed that God has a wonderful sense of humor. Created us, didn’t He? And I asked, didn’t I? Lol,

      Elizabeth

  10. annell4 says:

    Maybe that is just exactly what life is…following the path, and overcoming the obstacles? I am very proud of you Elizabeth, it would have been easier to become an astronaut, and fly to the moon. I know this was difficult! And so many are turned away before they start.

    • 1sojournal says:

      Thank you, Annell. Although I wrote this several years ago, I’m still impressed with that scared woman I was back then. I remember her fear, but also her willingness to at least put herself in the way of change. And I can’t thank her enough for doing just that. Sometimes, we, more than anyone else, need to rediscover the medicine within our own story. I’m glad you are proud of me, so am I, lol,

      Elizabeth

Comments are closed.