Discussion #13: Quotes

There is a vitality, a life force, an energy, a quickening, that is translated through you into action, and because there is only one of you in all time, this expression is unique. And if you
block it, it will never exist through any other medium and will be lost.

Martha Graham

I like quotes and even collect them. I use them in many different ways: to remember, to give myself a nudge, as an epigram for a piece of poetry, or support for a piece of prose. This discussion will be about quotes, or this one in particular. Discuss what it means to you in this moment. Share one of your own quotes that has particular meaning, or simply discuss what value, if any, you find in using quotes.

The podium is yours,

About 1sojournal

Loves words and language. Dances on paper to her own inner music. Loves to share and keeps several blogs to facilitate that. They can be found here: http://1sojournal.wordpress.com/ http://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/ http://claudetteellinger.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Discussion #13: Quote and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Discussion #13: Quotes

  1. Mike Patrick says:

    Okay, I’ll be first.

    There are many times when something I read or simply an idle thought triggers the memory of a quote. Some of them are silly, some profound. Quotes are another source for background information or color when I’m coming up dry on a prompt. I use three sites for reference when I’m trying to find or remember a quote. http://www.brainyquote.com/, is probably the most comprehensive. It can be searched by key word, author, type . . . any way you want to search. I also use http://www.worldofinspiration.com/ when I need a pick-me-up and http://en.wikiquote.org/wiki/Robert_A._Heinlein just because Heinlein’s philosophy and mine are about the same.

    The quote that has the most impact on my life was from my father. I don’t know if he originated it or not, but I’ve never found it anywhere else. Just before I left to go into the Navy, he said, “The best way to get out of a job you don’t like is to be conspicuously good at it.” He was right, but then, he always was always right.

  2. anl4 says:

    Yes I like quotes, too.

  3. vivinfrance says:

    I like to read them, rarely remember them, almost never use them.

  4. pmwanken says:

    Oh, ViV…can I quote you on that!? 😉

    Yes…I do like quotes. I’ve decided when something really strikes me and I am in a position to capture the quote, I will put it on a page in my blog called: “I wish I’d said that…”

    I have no idea what those quotes will be used for, if anything, but there have been a few recently that I’ve captured. (I’m not going to try to go back and remember all/any of those in the past I’ve liked.)

    Recently I have been introduced to the “cento” form. I don’t know if I have it in me to do one, but perhaps my saved quotes will come in handy for such a project some day.

  5. Tilly Bud says:

    I jot quotes down in my notebook but don’t use them.

  6. Mike Patrick says:

    Did my response hit the spam folder?

  7. tmhHoover says:

    Wandering over from Margo’s place and must say Viv’s relationships with quotes pretty much sums it up. for me. I am new to writing so when I find a string of words that fit together or catch my attention I do tend to reflect on them longer than normal. But then maybe that is what happens when you start to write. xo teri

  8. Pingback: Friday Freeforall: Of Prompts and Poetry « Margo Roby: Wordgathering

  9. Pingback: Friday Freeforall: Prompts a la Groundhog Day « Margo Roby: Wordgathering

Comments are closed.