Discussion #18: Challenge

Next week is the beginning of November. During that month, Robert Lee Brewer of Poetic Asides offers a PAD challenge: a poem a day throughout the month. Robert offers daily prompts for the challenge and when the month is over, he also challenges participants to put their material into a chapbook and submit it to him. The best one is then published in chapbook form. The rules for the challenge can be found here:

http://www.writersdigest.com/editor-blogs/poetic-asides/2011-november-pad-chapbook-challenge-rules

If any of you are thinking of participating in the November PAD challenge, please let the rest of us know. We can support one another through that endeavor. I do plan on taking a stab at doing the PAD, though I don’t know if I will use the daily prompts as an incentive. I might use some, but will remain open to other avenues as well.

Mike Patrick brought up a really good topic last week. He is struggling with the conflict of writing poetry or prose. When I was in college, we were told quite often, that if you wanted to write poetry, you shouldn’t write prose, and vice-versa. It has long been believed that one must stick to ones “calling”, or do harm to ones abilities in one or the other of those two formats.

Personally, I don’t believe that. I write both. And there are times when a poem becomes a personal essay, and other times when a piece of prose becomes a poem. I think that writing both, enhances and informs both. But, I struggled long before giving myself permission to do both. I have published both, and at one point had my own prose column in a local magazine for several years. I was also teaching and writing poetry at the same time.

The reason I brought this up for discussion is that there are always myths that surround any particular occupation or focus of activity. There are myths about writers, artists, musicians, doctors, lawyers, policemen, and firefighters. Those myths develop through generations of tradition and stereotypical generalities. We have been mentioning one here in these discussions: Writer’s Block.

I hope you try the prose Mike, but I’d also like to hear what myths the rest of you might have heard, or come in contact with, since starting to write. And do you recognize them as myths?

The mic is open:

About 1sojournal

Loves words and language. Dances on paper to her own inner music. Loves to share and keeps several blogs to facilitate that. They can be found here: http://1sojournal.wordpress.com/ http://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/ http://claudetteellinger.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Discussion #18: Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Discussion #18: Challenge

  1. annell says:

    I think I would like to try the challenge. Thanks for the discussion post.

  2. Elizabeth, I am going to take on the challenge of PAD. I may end up regretting it, because of my time limits. I do however feel it might be the very thing I need to get me out of the doldrums I am in. I will be looking for your poems 🙂

    Pamela

  3. pmwanken says:

    Hello, all. 🙂

    I don’t think this is a “common myth” about writing…but I did face something recently that I had to accept as myth for me personally. I had to separate my ability to write from the person who inspired me to write. The two are mutually exclusive. The loss of relationship with that person did not mean that my writing would go away.

    As for the PAD challenge…yes, I’ve been planning on participating. 🙂 I have a theme, of sorts, already in mind. But we’ll see what happens once I start reading Robert’s prompts.

    Hope to see/read some of you there!

    ~Paula

  4. Mary says:

    I plan to do many of them. Probably not all, as I write from so many sources. I wish Robert Brewer would do Mr. Linky though. I find it so ponderous to look through to find friends’ poetry amidst so much chit chat and back patting going on there that sometimes I just give up.

    • vivinfrance says:

      Mary I do agree: three hundred plus posts – perhaps a third of them poems – is just too much to wade through: poetry indigestion results. I’m doing the challenge, and dipping in to read some that take my fancy, and sighing to pass by at speed some possible gems.

    • pmwanken says:

      I also feel like I’m overwhelmed when I post there…and at first wished everyone would just post a link. However…I know not everyone has a blog, so that doesn’t work for them. I also probably wouldn’t read ANY of the poems if it was just a list of links…I think I might be overwhelmed by 100 links to blogs. What I have found is that I use the “control+F” shortcut to “find” anyone one in particular that I want to search for…as well as for finding my own post so I can read the comments left there.

      However…bottom line…while I enjoy the challenge of PAD, I don’t spend much time at the site.

      Happy writing, all! 🙂

  5. Tilly Bud says:

    I plan to do it but not to post to my poetry blog every day – so many people take part that I can’t get round them all, and I always seem to be late posting so not many visit me.

    I’ve had a similar problem with the other prompt sites, which is why I haven’t posted much lately; I feel bad that I don’t have time to return everyone’s visit. Such bad manners on my part.

    So, I will write poems every day but keep most to myself.

    I write fun poetry, serious poetry, diatribes and light-hearted prose. Each time we write, we improve a little. All that matters is to write.

  6. Pingback: Poetry Prompt[s] — Friday Freeforall « Margo Roby: Wordgathering

Comments are closed.