Discussion #21: Price

Sorry for being late, been having a few issues with my computer.

Last week, Neil used a phrase, “You get what you are willing to pay for.” That discussion was about difficult topics and subjects. I’d like to go to an opposing corner this week. I agree with Neil, we choose to do things because we gain something from the activity. But, because each of us is an individual, the things that are gained may be very different.

This week, I’d ask you to tell us about the part of the writing process that brings you the most satisfaction, delight, or pleasure. There are a lot of things that I like about writing, but I think the one I enjoy most is the learning process that takes place. Whether it is about an unfamiliar topic, or about my own person, I think that is the main reason I keep coming back to do this thing we all do. Of course, there is also the adulation of my few fans. That’s nice too, lol.

There is another thing that has mostly to do with writing poetry. I really get a kick out of making metaphors that work. A deep sense of satisfaction when things connect and make sense. I guess that is part of the learning process I was speaking of earlier. I really do like those light bulbs switching on and spreading their warmth.

So, for this week, which part of the writing process are you willing to pay for in time, effort, frustration, solitude, and all the rest of it?

The mic is open:

About 1sojournal

Loves words and language. Dances on paper to her own inner music. Loves to share and keeps several blogs to facilitate that. They can be found here: http://1sojournal.wordpress.com/ http://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/ http://claudetteellinger.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Discussion #21: Price and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Discussion #21: Price

  1. margo roby says:

    And I am first. Wow! I confess that ancestry.com is down and I seem unable to work on family stuff without having it open on a tab!

    The question is interesting, Elizabeth. I knew I received great joy from writing, but had never thought about which specific aspects. What I know is that the strongest emotion I feel happens when a poem I am writing, works. I have a sense of completeness, an ahh of satisfaction when everything comes together. As you say, Elizabeth: “A deep sense of satisfaction when things connect and make sense. I guess that is part of the learning process I was speaking of earlier. I really do like those light bulbs switching on and spreading their warmth.”

    During this idea to poem stage, I love the learning that happens, so I can complete a poem. Not just the learning that occurs to find the perfect metaphor [something I am still not terribly good at], but all the weird and wonderful things I have researched in the last twenty years.

    I receive the most fun when I revise the poem that comes together. I love the revision process, the working out of the parts that aren’t working quite as well as I think they can. This is a different satisfaction from the poem coming together, but almost as strong.

    And, yes, I do love that moment when I open an email and an editor says “Yes, we will take your poem”.

    And, the time that goes into it [and all the other things you list]? I retired so I can have more time to be frustrated, agonised, elated and all the other emotions.

    margo

  2. Tilly Bud says:

    Blogging: I love that sensation when I have written, revised, edited, fixed errors, punctuation, inserted pics and have it as perfect as I can get it, hit publish, checked it over once it has appeared. Such a sense of satisfaction! I love the feeling of having crafted something. I hate to just throw it on the page and publish; it is something I seldom, if ever, do. I love working at it.

    Poetry: the occasional first draft that works is nice, but I would rather draft and re-draft until it is just right, going through thirty words until I find just the right one. Coming to an empty page and thinking, ‘I’ve got nothing’; forcing it out, tweaking, fixing, changing layout, punctuation, word order, until it is just right. There is no satisfaction like it.

    It’s all about the craft.

  3. irene says:

    The joy of connecting with the world, I guess, which I presume is also part of the writing process if you publish your work in a blog.

    If your writing is not read, it is like a sound made in the forest, but no one hears.

    Unless you’re a published poet, your work won’t be read. But even if you have published a book, how many will buy your book? I don’t mean to be sour grapes, but if everyone is dying to read your work, then that’s another story. If you’re an unknown, and you feel you need to write, because it is part of your creativity, then a blog seems a good way of getting an audience.

    I’m so grateful to poets, dead or alive, who have made me feel I’m not alone in wanting to write. When I read their words I’m grateful they put so much honest truth into their writing.

    As for the social aspects of blogging, it does seem to be rather a fragile connection, I do admit.
    I mean, the support is pretty cursory and people do get tired of blogging and want to live more in the real world after a while.

    Real friends, real world. But it doesn’t matter. Because if there’re people who want to read you, you just go on writing regardless of whether the joy of connecting is or isn’t getting through to you. The circle grows small, but it becomes more true.

  4. pmwanken says:

    Great question…one that I’ve taken alllll week to ponder! I am not sure I have one answer so I’ll include a short list of thoughts…

    catharsis ~ it’s not only been a challenging year, but this is really the beginning of my writing, so I’ve gone back in time to capture some of what needed to be released…and writing has helped with that.

    community ~ my circle of friends now includes so many I have met through blogging and poetry…and I am richer because of it! I find myself thinking about all of you even when I’m not online, and it makes me want to return to my blog/the internet more and more often in order to connect. I have friends not online, but my online friends have become just as important.

    crafting ~ as I have grown in my writing over this past year, I have come to enjoy crafting…looking at my words on the screen and creating a way to make them sound better, look better, express better; to say the same thing as I would have written a year ago, but better. I have the people from this community of poets to thank for that.

    In a couple weeks it’ll be my one year anniversary of blogging…and writing poetry. Some of you know the price I’ve paid to get started in writing…and it’s been worth it.

    Much love!
    Paula

Comments are closed.